Have an idea?

Visit Sawtooth Software Feedback to share your ideas on how we can improve our products.

How to group the age internally?

Hi Team,

I am creating a survey in which the respondents age needs to captured as numeric and group them in the background. so I want to have a hidden variable to group the age under different age group categories, say for example, we have the below categories
Age 18-25
Age 26-40
Age 41 and above

I the respondent's age is 32 then has to be classified under group 2. please check and let me know the possibilities.

As I am new to this platform please explain detail.

Regards,
Ram
asked Jun 11 by raaamuz (360 points)

1 Answer

+1 vote
You can create a Pass-In variable (Questionnaire Access and Passwords -> Pass-In Fields).  Let's say you name it AgeCategory.  I'm going to assume your open numeric age question is called 'Age' for the example below.  After your age question, on a  question that all respondents will hit, add this script in the footer:

[% Begin Unverified Perl
if (VALUE("Age")<26)
{SETVALUE("AgeCategory", 1)}
elsif (VALUE("Age")>25 && VALUE("Age")<41)
{SETVALUE("AgeCategory", 2)}
elsif (VALUE("Age")>40)
{SETVALUE("AgeCategory", 3)}
End Unverified %]

This will set AgeCategory to a 1, 2 or 3 based on the response to Age.
answered Jun 11 by Jay Rutherford Gold (31,740 points)
Is it possible to add labels to that pass-in field (AgeCategory) Where 1 is "18-25 years", 2 is "26-40 years" and 3 is "Above 40 years"?
No, you can't add labels there.  However, another option would be to create a select question with those 3 categories and add a preskip to always skip that question.  Then use the same script but setting the value for the name of your select question instead of using a pass-in variable.  Works the same and I've done it on many projects.
Is it possible to display a message, like message box in excel?